Quo Vadimus

Where are we going?

A few months ago, during a time in which I felt very confused (and would make for a good post someday), I decided that I ought to devote myself more seriously to telling stories rather than just yammering on about this week’s biggest slice of “who cares” on a blog.  I backed away from blogging, completed a second draft on a screenplay, put together notes on another story idea, and started work on a third draft of said screenplay.

Hard work, yes.  But it doesn’t pay the bills.

Since my wife resigned from teaching to be a stay-at-home mom for the kids’ early years, we needed to supplement some income.  She’s working as a teacher’s assistant online, and I picked up a couple assignments for the magazine, as well as some part-time work as a grant writer. 

So all the lofty ideas of becoming the next great screenwriter (as well as a healthy dose of reality visited upon me by the feedback I received from the latest draft) have parked in the backseat until further notice. 

In the meantime, I’ve spent a number of prayers asking just what He thinks He is doing.  Where are we going, huh?  I’d really rather not spend the rest of my life as a grant writer.  I could see myself really falling in love with feature writing, but I need to do more of it. 

Telling stories is still at the heart of my passion.  Writing features fills some of that desire.  It’s a step along the way to the goal, or so I’ve read. 

So, anyway, this is me, figuring things out…

2 Responses to “Quo Vadimus”


  1. 1 gelatinguerrilla September 11, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    I like the new blog. I have only one comment. Please don’t give up on the screenplay. Have you ever seen Me. Holland’s Opus? You have to do what you have to do, economics works that way. But if you give up on the screenplay, you’ll regret it all your life. Who knows, the loss of a dream can cause serious difficulties in a person. Trust me.

  2. 2 Travis September 11, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I think this post is going to serve as an excellent example of failing to communicate what I was trying to say. ;-)

    It’s my own fault. “So all the lofty ideas of becoming the next great screenwriter…have parked in the backseat until further notice” reads like it means I’m giving up the screenplay.

    I promise I am not.

    I just can’t devote the time to it now to meet the Oct 31 deadline. I have conferred with my writing partner on this and he and I agree that the likelihood of turning in our best work by that date, with everything else going on right now, is running a little slim. We will finish this story. I promise.


Leave a Reply

