The Hatred Toward Palin

Jeffrey Overstreet invited readers to email in and try to persuade him how to cast his ballot this year, and he was nice enough to post some of those he received.  Skimming over the ones he posted (22 pages in MS Word) I noticed a thread of discontent toward Gov. Sarah Palin, even from those who said they support McCain. 

I’ve read a lot of the same material and seen many of the same interviews these guys have and I have to admit that I just don’t get the same vibe.  I’ve noticed this thread of discontent in a few places, and in many of those, it reads like pure disdain. 

So I wanted to share this brief piece from Fred Barnes at The Weekly Standard

The money quotes:

Lorne Michaels is the longtime executive producer of Saturday Night Live. Sarah Palin appeared on SNL in mid-October, after which Michaels noted, “Her politics aren’t my politics.” But that wasn’t all he said. “I think Palin will continue to be underestimated,” Michaels told EW.com. “I watched the way she connected with people, and you can see that she’s a very powerful, very disciplined, incredibly gracious woman. This was her first time out and she’s had a huge impact. People connect to her.”

[…]

A media person I know dismisses her as “a journalism graduate of the University of Idaho.” This is pure snobbery. I asked him to name his favorite president of the past 60 or 70 years, and he chose Harry Truman. Truman never went to college but became a pretty good president nonetheless when he succeeded FDR after only a few weeks as vice president.

[…]

Governors who run for national office automatically face questions about their inexperience in foreign affairs. Ronald Reagan did. Bill Clinton did. So did George W. Bush. Had Obama picked Virginia governor Tim Kaine as his veep, Kaine would have been hit with those questions. If McCain had chosen Minnesota governor Tim Pawlenty (as he came close to doing), Pawlenty would have faced the same doubts. So the qualms about Palin’s experience are merely par for the course.

[…]

My advice is ignore the critics who know far less about Palin than she does about foreign policy. A good example is Ken Adelman, who headed the arms control agency in the Reagan administration. Adelman recently endorsed Obama and said he “would not have hired [Palin] for even a mid-level post in the arms control agency.” Well, I know both Palin and Adelman. And Ken, I’m sorry to tell you, but I think there are an awful lot of jobs in Washington that Palin would get before you.

I like Sarah Palin.  I feel no shame in liking her, and I won’t lose a wink of sleep if she finds her way to the White House.

0 Responses to “The Hatred Toward Palin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

