On This Historic Election…

WASHINGTON (CNN) – A new report from American University’s Center for the Study of the American Electorate concludes that voter turnout in Tuesday’s election was the same in percentage terms as it was four years ago — or at most has risen by less than 1 percent.

(via Nota Bennett)

The apathy apparent here just staggers me. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, but considering President-elect Obama’s rock star following (what Tom Brokaw called yesterday a “cult of personality”), I’m just a little befuddled. 

I work with a very nice lady whose husband refuses to vote. She tells me that he says it doesn’t matter, and I want to drive to this man’s home shake him and ask him if he knows just how rare and precious a privilege it is to have the opportunity to elect the leaders of our republic. 

Turns out republican turnout was lower too.  A friend of mine standing over my shoulder as I write this says it’s because of a lack of enthusiasm. Folks, we’re beat. We’re tired. And we have forgotten our first love.

I listened to a preacher comment on the elections yesterday, and he made a wonderful point–if the world is ever going to see real change, it will happen at the feet of Christ.  That does not mean we need to find the nearest abortion clinic, make our signs and call out our chants. It means you and I need to go to His feet.  You and me. That’s where it starts. That’s where it begins. And folks, the beginning is near.

0 Responses to “On This Historic Election…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

