Trying to save the cat

“Saving the cat,” so I’ve heard, is screenwriter jargon for endearing your protagonist to the audience early on in your script.

I’ve spent the better part of an hour working and then reworking a particular scene where my hero essentially helps the old lady cross the street, but I just can’t get it onto the page with the right aplomb. At this stage in the story, my hero is no hero. He saves this cat because he’s compelled by a deep memory.  I want to convey it, but not really convey it, you know?  And his actions score some provision for the start of his journey. 

I’m halfway there and I just can’t stick the landing.  How’s that for specifically vague?

0 Responses to “Trying to save the cat”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

