The things you sacrifice from 1st draft to 2nd

bourne2Not that this has any lasting importance or meaning, but I was hammering out a review of The Bourne Ultimatum last night (will post soon), and realized I was getting a little too snarky. On the rewrite, I cleaned up the sarcasm, and I had to sacrifice my favorite bit:

“For all the comparisons between Bourne and James Bond, Ultimatum leaves the argument moot.  Bond had charm.  Bourne has…an uncanny resemblance to Matt Damon.”

Last night, I thought that was pretty funny.

1 Response to “The things you sacrifice from 1st draft to 2nd”


  1. 1 cft999 April 13, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Aw, throw it back in! To me, the series jumped the proverbial shark during its third outing. Not terrible, but the thrill was clearly gone. Big b.o. will mean a fourth installment, and it’s a character that can’t sustain that length of franchise.


Leave a Reply

